Paint Brush Alley Located in the 100 block of Twohig Street and Concho Avenue.
Secret Garden: Located at 31 W. Beauregard.
"Art Opens Doors": Displays at 215 S. Oakes
Bats at Foster Rd Bridge
All free-tail roosts are not in caves. At the Foster Road overpass at Loop 306 in San Angelo, free-tails occupy narrow crevices on the underside of the bridge. They first arrive at Foster Road in late March and are wholly absent by the end of November. In the last decade, spring and early summer population has fluctuated between a few thousand and 150,000 bats. But from late summer through October, when maternity colonies have largely dispersed, up to 184,000 have been recorded. I would not be surprised to find over a quarter of a million of bats here in October, (Terry Maxwell). Best time for viewing is at sunset.
The Bosque Park
Summer fun in San Angelo has a new home. The Bosque includes, washer pits, chess, Putt-putt golf, paddle boats, sand volleyball, boccie ball and concessions (cash only). So if you are looking for something to do, come down to the Concho River and experience The Bosque!
Buffalo Statue - At the Paseo between the two pavilions
An intriguing metal sculpture, titled " The rebirth of an Old Friend", was created by Richard Salmon and was dedicated to the lifetime achievements of famed San Angelo author Elmer Kelton.The Cactus Hotel - 36 E. Twohig
The Cactus Hotel
This historic hotel was Conrad Hilton's fourth hotel. Built in 1929, it was his largest, most ornate and most expensive ($900,000) hotel property. The hotel, with its 14 stories, lavish decorations and elegant crystal ballroom, has been revitalized as the city's cultural center. The San Angelo Symphony and the Cultural Affairs Council are housed on the mezzanine level. In the lobby are shops, art galleries and a café. The hotel no longer has overnight accommodations. For information call 325-655-5000. www.cactushotel.net
Historic Concho Avenue
Concho Avenue in the downtown area was the first street in "Santa Angela". The avenue shares simple charm with delightful country collectibles and memorabilia. The colorful history of Concho Avenue and downtown San Angelo is reflected in the stores and buildings.
Whether browsing through antique malls or designer fashion stores, having lunch at a tavern, enjoying music at the watering hole or reliving history in the "Best Little Bordello Museum in Texas" -- Miss Hattie's -- you are guaranteed a wonderful time.
Have a two hour cruise or an all day party. This is the only cruiser in West Texas! It features many amenities. Open year-round by reservation. FMI call 325-481-3210 or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org. Visit website at www.conchocruises.biz
Concho pearls have been found in the natural waterways of West Texas for at least 400 years. The freshwater mussel shells, unique to this area, produce lustrous pearls in natural colors ranging from soft pinks through vivid lavenders. These beautiful pearls, produced by at least 12 varieties of mussel clams of the Unionacea family, appear in virtually every shape and size, and can be purchased in jewelry stores throughout the city.
D'Vine Wine Winery -
San Angelo's first and only winery. Over 18 different wines are hand crafted, fermented and bottled right on the premises. Juices are imported from all over and wines for every palate are available by the tasting, glass or bottle. A short tour of the winery and process is available through out the day. 113 E. Concho Downtown.
El Paseo de Santa Angela
El Paseo is a heritage trail linking the past and future of San Angelo by using activity areas to bring our history and cultural heritage to life. Pathways, two pavilion buildings and a tiered plaza connect Fort Concho National Historic Landmark, the Historic Orient-Santa Fe Depot and the Concho River to create this open area. A restaurant in the area features Mexican and American food. Along the approximately five and one half blocks of El Paseo you also will see the beautifully restored railroad depot and warehouse buildings--an area known as "Santa Fe Crossing.
Fort Concho National Historic Landmark
Founded in 1867 as a frontier outpost to protect early West Texas settlers, Fort Concho is the reason that San Angelo exists today. The town literally grew up around the fort, and now the town boasts the fort as its primary tourist attraction. The national historic landmark includes a visitor center, museum and parade grounds. Seventeen buildings on the fort grounds have been restored and five have been reconstructed, giving the visitors an authentic feel for the frontier days of the mid-1880s. 630 S. Oakes St.
Historic Old Town
"Old Town" at El Paseo de Santa Angela is a repository for restored endangered historic buildings. Five structures have been relocated to the site: the Zenker House, an 1880's bank building, a 1909 Victorian residence, the Camunez grocery store, and a tiny 1880's home. Oscar Ruffini, San Angelo's pioneer architect designed the bank and the Victorian residence. Ruffini's combination office and home will be moved to the site at a later date. 500 Orient Street.
Historic Orient-Santa Fe Depot
The restored Historic Orient-Santa Fe Depot, celebrating the centennial anniversary of the building with was built in 1909 and that our houses the Railway Museum of San Angelo. The former KCM&O passenger depot which in 1929 became Santa Fe's depot when they bought out their rival here in San Angelo the KCM&O. Come and visit the changing displays of railroad and depot artifacts, memorabilia, elaborate model train layouts of various gauges, a gift shop, and exterior exhibits featuring two locomotives, a boxcar, and a caboose on permanent display. 703 S. Chadbourne St.
The International Waterlily Collection
The International Waterlily Collection has been designated by the International Waterlily and Water Gardening Society as a premiere collection of waterlilies in existence. 2 South Park Street. Check out Lilyfest in September.
This ranch is recognized by Texas Parks & Wildlife as the largest concentration of breeding black-chinned hummingbirds in the USA. The air-conditioned viewing room will accommodate individuals, families and large groups. P.O. Box 556, Christoval, TX. 325-255-2254.
Mt. Carmel Hermitage
The hermits of the Most Blessed Virgin Mary of Mount Carmel are a community of men called to a life of silence, solitude, prayer and penance for the good of the Church and the salvation of the world. The hermits live in a Laura, a colony of Hermits living in separate dwellings around a central chapel, following the original Carmelite rule.
Historic Murals of San Angelo
Over 13 large murals located throughout downtown provide our current population and future generations with a clear, valid understanding of the history-rich legacy of our West Texas forefathers. Use your cell phone for a guided tour.
Pearl of the Conchos
The prize-winning sculpture of a mermaid was the creation of the late Jane Charles Beck. The slightly larger than life-size bronze sculpture depicts a "fresh water" mermaid with an outstretched hand holding a symbolic Concho Pearl, found only in the waters of the Concho Rivers surrounding San Angelo.
The Richard and Pam Salmon Sculpture Garden
The Richard and Pam Salmon Sculpture Garden, a juried exhibition of outdoor sculpture, is hosted by the San Angelo Museum of Fine Arts. The yearly exhibit of 12-15 large-scale sculptures is in the Sunken Garden park. The large-scale sculptures enhance an already beautiful spot and add yet another attraction to San Angelo's wonderful River Walk. Sunken Garden Park is located at 704 S. David St.
The Concho River, named for the mussels that produce the unique pink Concho Pearl, has always been a treasure to the city. The River Beautification Project features beautiful gardens, a river walk/plaza area, 14 water displays, turn-of-the-century lighting, the Bill Aylor Sr. Memorial River Stage, a children's (Kids' Kingdom) playground, a four-mile jogging-walking trail, the Visitor Center and a nine-hole golf course -- all in downtown San Angelo. GREAT TEXAS PUBLIC SPACE DESIGNEE - 2017
The Downtown San Angelo Inc. Sheeptacular art project can be seen all over town at participating local businesses and public places. Each sheep is uniquely designed and painted by local artists and sponsored by local San Angelo businesses and organizations. Taking the sheep tour is a great way to get out on the town and experience something that is truly "ewe"-nique to San Angelo.
Tule Princess Steamboat Company
Come experience an authentic steamboat ride aboard the last, full size "Walking Beam" steam engine paddle wheeler operating anywhere in the world. Relax as a 50 minute excursion ride around Lake Nasworthy shows you many of the native animals and plants of West Texas.
Vietnam Veterans Memorial
A Huey Helicopter and Monument located at the San Angelo Municipal Airport (Mathis Field) This Memorial was dedicated May 17, 1997 and honors those who where KIA'S, POW'S and MIA'S. 8618 Terminal Circle.
Architecture designed by Craig Kinney / Chakos Zentner Marcum Architects. The 1,600 square foot Visitor Center itself has a soaring roof with a floor to ceiling wall of glass looking out onto the Concho River. The stone in the building is from Texas stone quarries located in Sisterdale, Garden City and Lometa. The floor and benches are made of mesquite wood. . There is a picturesque waterfall that tumbles down the walkway that goes to the river and The Angela Sculpture cast in bronze overlooks the river. 418 W. Ave B.